• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

According to CPU-Z...

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Quattro

Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2003
Hello,

According to CPU-Z in my
DIMM#1 I have Kingston PC3200 (I don't remember buying this..)
DIMM#2 I have Hyundai PC2100 (I thought it was Samsung)

Is CPU-Z accurate?

Thanks,
James
 
OP
Quattro

Quattro

Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2003
Oh sorry yes.
Two sticks of DDR 256MB which I thought where both PC2100
 
OP
Quattro

Quattro

Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2003
Anyone got any advice?
Or shall I crack open the case as whip them both out and simply inspect?
 
OP
Quattro

Quattro

Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2003
They are just plain crappy unbranded stuff that I've had for ages.
I've been meaning to get some PC3200 RAM for a while now, but if one is already PC3200 I'll only need one more.
 

mfjonny

Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2003
Location
California
only way to make sure is to run them at DDR400 speed and check. CPU-Z, though a great program, I wouldn't consider the end all in IDing ram sticks.

test each one at FSB200 and see how they do.

you want to stick with two sticks of the same ram when running high bandwith/FSB (if not matched pairs).
 

#18

Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2002
I don't think CPU-z reports the same as manufacturer rated. All my PC3200 and PC2700 are reported as PC2700.
 

amdking

Member
Joined
May 21, 2002
CPU-Z I beleive detects whatever text string was programmed into the modules SPD chip.
 

f00t

Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2002
my cpu=z craps out at 200fsb or higher, so no telling what sticks I got. me thinks its pc 2700 cause it takes a whole lotta volts to get to 200+ with relaxed timings