• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

alternative os for crunching

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

LuKE

they make seti for just about every os ever produced. has neone tried comparing the preformance of seti on an alternative os with windows? I'm thinking about running BeOS or linux to run seti just because of the stabilty and the memory access that BeOS and linux use are so much different the the method windows uses. Now of course i'm no programmer that has an extensive background in the way this stuff werks, just from what i've read. Ne input would be a great help.

Everything I have ever read says that Linux is better for your SETI times then Windows. I don't know why, it just is...

JigPu

for all intensive purposes,they should all run at about the same speed.but like it or not,the majority of users are windows users,and hence the more likely outcome of the code being optimized for windows.
as for beos,give it a go and let us know how it goes
interesting to see how a virtually latency free OS handles seti@home

I was going to use BeOS but at 70 bucks that is just like buying Windows. I heard that it rocks though. Handles up to 16 Processors if I am not mistaken...been awhile since I looked at the box. Let me know if it truly rocks.

Basher said:
I ran Linux Mandrake and the times were slower than WIN 2000 by 2 hours.

/\ /\
It's real hard to read your green type.

By the way I live right down the river from you in Pgh. Computer show in Monroville this weekend, no sales tax on computer parts in Pa through Sun.