• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

AMD IGP APU HTPC help

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

pinky33

MOBO: GIGABYTE B450M DS3H
PROC: 2200G
TV: TCL 4K

I have been running this PC since 2/14/2020 and all has been well. It has been hooked up to a 4k TCL tv to use mostly as a photos slide / screen saver thing. I also use it as a classic HTPC to watch netflix/hulu/brows web/play music. Normal HTPC stuff. It has worked great for almost 2 years. I decided to update windows and boy was that a mistake.

I restarted after updates and it loaded flash screen, then loading windows loading circle for a second, then blank screen. TV was getting a signal. If the TV was not getting a signal it would say "make sure device is connected". I restarted a several times. Checked bios. Sometimes I would hit the restart button while it was a blank screen it would restart and pop up "windows was not booted up correct" I guess I hit the restart button while it was in the middle of loading windows. At first I was very confused since computer was obviously putting out a signal but for some reason when windows started to load it stopped. I have a 5450 GPU laying around and popped it in, restarted and it booted up fine (only can display 1080p). I finished running a few more updates via windows and updated drivers for AMD. Shut down computer, pulled GPU out and booted with integrated graphics processor only. Again same thing.

My HTPC will only show windows login screen/desktop with a graphics card but not IGP. I know the IGP works fine as it displays bios and splash screen.

It has something to do with updated windows.

I even did a complete reformat. All is well until windows update and restart.

Maybe something else is going on I am unaware of. Please help me.