• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Athlon XP's May Bend Resulting In Fried CPU

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

TC

Senior Seti Addict
Mods if you feel this belongs elsewhere please move it. I think it may apply to a wide range of motherboards and heatsinks, with only one thing in common - Athlon XP's which is why I'm posting it here.

This is going to be a long explanation, but I think it deserves further investigation and a general caution for those building new systems. I have only investigated this problem with Epox motherboards and a few brands of heatsinks, but it may very well be happening with all brands.

First a little background about the problem and myself. I have been building systems as a side job for several years. I am also A+ certified. In other words I'm not a new comer to hardware. A few months ago I bought my first XP chip. I decided to swap it with a tbird I had running with an Epox 8K7A. For a heatsink I was using a Thermalright SK6. I left the board in the case and replaced the tbird with the new XP, applied arctic silver, and reattached the heatsink. While booting up I briefly saw the post screen, then heard a pop and smelled the unmistakable odor of burned electronics. I pulled the plug and knew it was either my board or the new chip. When I took the heatsink off it was obvious the chip had burned up. It had popped at one corner and splattered arctic silver around the socket. A hasty investigation convinced me I had failed to notice that one edge of the heatsink was resting on the socket's cam box - the raised edge where the locking lever attaches. The Thermalright SK6 has a raised edge to clear the cam box, but it is possible to slide the heatsink over too far while attaching the clip and it will not clear the cam box. This prevents the heatsink from resting flat