• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Brett's Zalman PSU review

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

bluce ree

Registered
Hello all,
My name is Dave an I'm an electronics design engineer. Brett's test setup was unfortunately flawed. He used very good equipment, EXCEPT for something extremely important: he used a Variac to set his AC voltage. A variac is essentially a HUGE power transformer with a variable secondary winding. The voltage you set with a variac will VARY DEPENDING UPON THE LOAD. It will vary slightly-- but I've seen some poorly made ones that vary significantly---remember there is no storage capacitor on a variac--- the more you load it down, the lower it's output voltage gets. In order to use one you need to reset it FOR EVERY SINGLE TEST.

what do I use at work? A Kikusui or HP powersupply. those suckers deliver PERFECT POWER, VERY CLOSE to 1.00 power factor, and a nice clean sine wave all the way up to 1kHz. Of course they costs tens of thousands of dollars.

Also left out of Brett's calculations was heating loss and power factor loss. those will add to your AC current draw--heating loss will further reduce your output voltages.