• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

cable question???

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Psyko07

im a newb so help me out here. i am bulding a pc and want to put 3 hdd's in it but all the cables i see are only good for 1 master and one slave, so wtf, how do people do it, and also i have more than two cd/dvd drives and i only see cables for 2, where are these 3 port cables, someone tell me

I believe there are only dual device cables, grab an ide pci slot card, and use that to run the extra two devices (you are talking about 6 total right?)

you attach two harddrives as slaves on 1 ide cable... make sure to put the jumpers on the HDDs correctly. Same with the other drives... set them as slaves and attach on the same IDE cable.

Vio1 said:
you attach two harddrives as slaves on 1 ide cable... make sure to put the jumpers on the HDDs correctly. Same with the other drives... set them as slaves and attach on the same IDE cable.
??? You can onlt have two IDE devices on one channel MAX. That means one Master/one slave per cable. To answer his question, On the first channel, set your boot drive (one with the OS on it) to master and set the second drive to slave. Plug them into the same (1st) cable. On the second channel, set the 3rd drive to Master and your CD-Rom drive to "Slave". They go on the same (2nd) cable as well. You won't be able to have 2 CD-Roms drives without an external card though.

Wait, does your mobo support SATA?

ide pci slot card , will be your best pick and there fairly chaep. just look around for the best price