• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Can I spray compressed air directley into my computer?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.
Status
Not open for further replies.

gingo

I've never used this stuff before, I just picked up a can a pressurized air for cleaning electronics and stuff.
Can I spray it right at the mobo and everything else to dust them? I noticed there is some liquid in the can, I dont want to ruin my computer by accidentley letting the liquid stuff out.

keep it upright

don't turn it upside down and use short bursts rather than holding down the trigger for long.

if you tilt the can too much, the liquid will come out and you do not want that to spread across your electronics (although it evaporates in seconds).

test on paper or something first so you understand how much you can or can not tilt the can. usually if you keep the can parallel to the motherboard (assuming you have a tower case and the motherboard is vertically mounted - so the can would be level when dusting off say, the RAM) - then you will be ok.

another note

you might want to have your computer turned off as well, if you are uncertain. just as a precautionary measure.

Like Brodo said, do NOT turn the can upside down and do NOT shake the can prior to use. As you suspected, you do not want the liquid to get on your motherboard or other electronic components. You will notice that the can gets cold feeling as you blow off your equipment. This occurs as the liquid evaporates into a gas.

yea really, just turn it off and you should be fine. allthough im not sure what chemical they use but i dont think it conducts. read the lable it should have some notes.

~z

I just finished, my temps dropped 3 degrees celcius :D

damn dust! :)

you should hold it upside down and spary your hand or better yet some one else's