• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Catalyst 2.4 Released

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Rav

Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2001
Location
Philthadelphia
Various fixes and speed improvments, also finally adds a refresh rate fix for Directx! OpenGL refresh fix will be in next driver release they say. Head over to ATI's site and pick them up, I'll post some results later tonight if I get a chance!

http://www.ati.com/

-Rav
 

Johnny Knoxville

Disabled
Joined
May 29, 2002
yeah this is the leaked drivers i posted about last week this is 6200c which means it may be slightly modified from the leaked 6200
 
D

Dragon_Engineer2

Guest
I hope this one works the leaked one screwed up my system.Gah must get home!
 

funnyperson1

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2001
and people say Ati doesnt make enough drivers.....how about two drivers in two days lol .....ill tell you how they work soon :)
 

Mr. Chambers

Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2001
Location
Iowa
rb26dett said:
All my games dropped 30+ FPS, 3Dmark2001 went from 14000+ to 13735, bah .. I reinatlled the old ones (6193)

i believe you had some settings or something fluky with your install then... 30+ drop in fps is insane at the same settings...
 

rb26dett

Disabled
Joined
Sep 16, 2002
Location
Chicago, USA
Mr. Chambers said:


i believe you had some settings or something fluky with your install then... 30+ drop in fps is insane at the same settings...

my settings are fine , those drivers are lame.
I reinstalled my old ones and went back to 14000+ and my fps are back :)
 
OP
Rav

Rav

Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2001
Location
Philthadelphia
I did get some improvement in performance. IQ seems excellent as always, perhaps better. However I was pretty upset to find that the Refresh fix didn't work at all. Vsync doesn't seem to work all the time either (Directx). Looks like I still have to use 3rd party tools.

-Rav
 

PsycoPhreak

Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2001
The 2.4 Catalyst drivers seemed to have raised the performance I get.

Only problem I see is the same problem I've had from the beginning when I first bought my 8500, during the fill rate test on 3dmark....I get split second "pauses" where the textures just stop moving..then start again....seems like it's not a driver issue, but a problem somewhere in my system...I see the same "pauses" during some games as well...( possibly due to the fact that My MSI 845E MAX2 BLR board won't allow me to adjust the AGP aperature size and has locked it at 64Mb....actually..all the software I have used reports the AGP aperature at 55Mb...when it SHOULD be 128Mb )

Other than that, ATI has got their act together as far as drivers, and if your seeing a huge performance drop just by changing drivers, ( like the loss of 30+ FPS ) then something with the install went wrong, or some sort of corruption took place...( like within the registry...a file..ETC...ETC...)
 

DaddyB

Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2002
Location
Toronto, Canada
My 3dmark score went up a couple hundred points, the drivers seem good. Did anyone check out the new options in the control panel though? You can enable fast writes and change your AGP interface (AGP 2x, 4x, 1x) right from the control panel...of course I tried to enable fast writes and it didnt work but I think thats because I have an 8500dv.

I use refresh force so I dont know if the refresh rate fix worked or not.
 
OP
Rav

Rav

Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2001
Location
Philthadelphia
I wasn't able to set fast writes on my 9700 Pro. From what I've read it doesn't make a difference though.

-Rav
 

Kingslayer

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2001
Location
Port Charlotte, Florida
Rav said:
I did get some improvement in performance. IQ seems excellent as always, perhaps better. However I was pretty upset to find that the Refresh fix didn't work at all. Vsync doesn't seem to work all the time either (Directx). Looks like I still have to use 3rd party tools.

-Rav

What 3rd party tools do you prefer?
 

Stumpjumper5200

Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2002
Location
Best 1/4 Mile Time: 13.57 @ 101.13
What you need to do is get the DirectX9 release candidate (beta) and the dx9 radeon drivers. ATI's got about 4 demos for it, and they are pretty cool. (Oh yeah, you need a 9700pro, I think the other 9xxx cards would work too, they're dx9 ready)

Remeber that picture showing off what the 9700 could do? The one with the reflective spheres and stuff? Well that's what one of the demos is and its absolutely amazing.
 
OP
Rav

Rav

Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2001
Location
Philthadelphia
I use a program called RefreshFix that make it so only certain modes are available. For example, instead of 1280x1204 with 60Hz-85Hz, I set it so only 85Hz is available, so it always defaults to that instead of 60hz. I used to use RefreshLock which runs in systray, but that doesn't work with all games (MW4). Has the ATI refresh override worked for anyone here?

-Rav