• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Computer with no case?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

velocicaur

Registered
Joined
Apr 29, 2002
Hey Guys,

I seen pictures of computers with no cases, but how do you turn them on and off, is there some special rig thing you have to do?

I'm asking this because over the years i've collected enough things to make an extra computer and was wondering if there was a way to hook it all up and test it out before getting a case....

Does it work or am I missing something in the pictures? :beer:


Thanks- Velo
 
OP
V

velocicaur

Registered
Joined
Apr 29, 2002
How would I go about doing that?

Anyone have a link or diagram? :D

Thanks guys-

velo
 

T20

Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2002
Location
Toronto, Canada
errrr

on one of the corners there are many lil pins like "Speaker" "RST SW" "PWR ON" etc... grab a blue jumper, and shove it on the "pwr on" pins.

Or use the manual that came wif the mobo to find those pins.

make sure the everything is connected when you do this, the power supply too.

PS. If what I am saying rings no bells, perhaps you should not be doing this.
 
OP
V

velocicaur

Registered
Joined
Apr 29, 2002
A blue Jumper?

I found the power on pin, but not sure what to put over it to make it work?

The motherboard is an Abit BP6 if that helps anything.
 

T20

Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2002
Location
Toronto, Canada
lol you have to connect them. Using anything conductive would work. So things like wires, paperclips etc... be creative
 
OP
V

velocicaur

Registered
Joined
Apr 29, 2002
Sweet :D

Thanks for the help

Paperclip worked...

Just saved myself 50 bucks :cool: :beer:

Velo
 

Spec_Ops2087

Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2002
Location
NJ
you can also take a screw driver and touch the two power pins together so they short each other out...that will turn it on




Spec
 

IFMU

The Xtreme Senior Nobody
Joined
Jun 21, 2001
Yup, Ive killed many a cases here. Took out the switch, cut the wiring, and made up a nice lil switch, prolly about 3 inches long. And made just for that kinda job! :D
 

funnyperson1

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2001
when i had my computer turned away from me for airflow reasons, i used a reset switch from an AT case to short the two pins :)...worked great as the hdd lee light lol
 

hooziewhatsit

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2000
Location
Klamath Falls Oregon, USA
lol, I have three computers sitting on top of cardboard boxes right now because it's much cheaper than a real case. On the first one I actually mounted some switches for power and reset, but for the others, I just find something metal on my desk to short the necessary pins.
 

garwain

Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2002
Location
Quebec, Canada
my favorite pen (for following reason) has a metal tip, and works wonders for turning on a computer when no power button is available.