• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

double check my HTPC parts list

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

pinky33

Member
Joined
May 6, 2008
Thank you for looking. :)

computer will be mounted to mobo tray, mobo tray screwed to wall behind tv.

I have blue ray, ssd, psu

connecting HTPC to 4k TCL from 2017

One thought is to buy 2600x for $10 more (after $20 bundle saving), but then I would have to buy a gfx card. No gaming on this planned as of now. Basic games like castle crasher and the like should play fine at 4k on vega 8.....right?

Any thoughts, ideas? Something I am missing?

Still looking at remotes that have back-lit keyboad, mouse touchpad, work with PC, Receiver, and TV. Really only need to have at least 7 custom programmable buttons for tv(on/off) and Receiver(on/off, volume up/down, and cd/tv/dvd button).



https://www.microcenter.com/product...m4-boxed-processor-with-wraith-stealth-cooler


https://www.microcenter.com/product/510208/gigabyte-b450m-ds3h-amd-am4-matx-motherboard


https://www.microcenter.com/product...-desktop-memory-kit-gapr416gb3200c16adc---red
 

trents

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
Thank you for looking. :)

computer will be mounted to mobo tray, mobo tray screwed to wall behind tv.

I have blue ray, ssd, psu

connecting HTPC to 4k TCL from 2017

One thought is to buy 2600x for $10 more (after $20 bundle saving), but then I would have to buy a gfx card. No gaming on this planned as of now. Basic games like castle crasher and the like should play fine at 4k on vega 8.....right?

Any thoughts, ideas? Something I am missing?

Still looking at remotes that have back-lit keyboad, mouse touchpad, work with PC, Receiver, and TV. Really only need to have at least 7 custom programmable buttons for tv(on/off) and Receiver(on/off, volume up/down, and cd/tv/dvd button).



https://www.microcenter.com/product...m4-boxed-processor-with-wraith-stealth-cooler


https://www.microcenter.com/product/510208/gigabyte-b450m-ds3h-amd-am4-matx-motherboard


https://www.microcenter.com/product...-desktop-memory-kit-gapr416gb3200c16adc---red

More than what? I see no CPU mentioned except that for the old HTPC in your Sig. Are you referencing another thread?
 
OP
pinky33

pinky33

Member
Joined
May 6, 2008
More than what? I see no CPU mentioned except that for the old HTPC in your Sig. Are you referencing another thread?

The first link in the list of parts is for the CPU a 2200G. For $10 more I could get a 2600x. But I am heavily leaning towered the 2200G.

Be great if something with vega 11 was just a little more money.
 

trents

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
Oh, I see now. I saw stealth-cooler at the end of the link syntax and it didn't occur to me it was actually for the CPU and the boxed cooler.

Will that little bitty CPU with IGP be able to drive a 4k TV? Maybe it will do fine. I don't know as I'm not AV expert and my HTPC is still connected to a 1080p TV.
 
OP
pinky33

pinky33

Member
Joined
May 6, 2008
This is the first brand new computer build for me since I bought a Q6600 build in 2008. Been buying used for so long.

Not sure why photo is upside down. Fine on my computer.
 

Attachments

  • HTPC BUILD.jpg
    HTPC BUILD.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 43
Joined
Dec 13, 2005
Oh, I see now. I saw stealth-cooler at the end of the link syntax and it didn't occur to me it was actually for the CPU and the boxed cooler.

Will that little bitty CPU with IGP be able to drive a 4k TV? Maybe it will do fine. I don't know as I'm not AV expert and my HTPC is still connected to a 1080p TV.

Yes, it will output 4k (video? Probably fine, but even basic games you may want to set to 1080), the problem being that Gigabyte board only has HDMI 1.4, so it'll be limited to 30Hz - I've tried it and at 30Hz even scrolling through web pages and things seems a little fuzzy.
 
Last edited:
OP
pinky33

pinky33

Member
Joined
May 6, 2008
freakdiablo

I hope you are mistaken and I did my homework right because my goal was to use on board integrated video and get HDMI 2.0 with 60hz. I will double check to make sure I have rev 1.0 mobo when I get home from work. Both gigabyte website and newegg say it can, but in an inauspicious way. Please see attached screen shots.

Please correct me if I am wrong as I find mixed answers to this questions. AMD 2200G supports HDMI 2.0 as long as the MOBO does. AMD's website just states it supports HDMI without giving a version probably because it depends on mobo. And when I search mobo they state it does as long as processor does. The chicken or the egg???

After I set it all up what is an easy way to test that it is working at HDMI 2.0? I am using cheap Twisted Veins HDMI cables from a few years ago. They say 2.0, but who knows.

Bonus info. Running HDMI to TV, then optical audio cable from TV to receiver. At this point I only have 2.0 speaker setup, but I would hope passing through the TV will not impede 5.1 if/when I set that up.

Thanks for looking at my thread all 2 people who are left on this forum. Oh how it has changed.

- - - Auto-Merged Double Post - - -

some pics of little HTPC wall mount build so far. Trying to do this while watching a 2 and 4 year old is interesting.
 

Attachments

  • NEWEGG SPECS.PNG
    NEWEGG SPECS.PNG
    14.4 KB · Views: 28
  • GIGABYTE WEBSITE SPECS.PNG
    GIGABYTE WEBSITE SPECS.PNG
    19 KB · Views: 29
  • 20200213_160331.jpg
    20200213_160331.jpg
    4.6 MB · Views: 28
  • 20200213_163043.jpg
    20200213_163043.jpg
    4.6 MB · Views: 29
  • 20200213_164940.jpg
    20200213_164940.jpg
    1.3 MB · Views: 28
  • 20200213_164952.jpg
    20200213_164952.jpg
    2.5 MB · Views: 27