• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Duallie rendering nodes

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

tecton3d

Registered
I'm an architecture student looking to build a small renderfarm/cluster for rendering with 3d Studio Max. I currently have a Boxx dual Opteron 248 workstation and absolutely love the performance I get with this rig, but the cost of dual opterons and thier mobo's is what's keeping me from being able to build a similar system and add more ghz to my workflow. Obviously, forced to look elsewhere for my rendering muscle, I have been recommended:

overclocking a dual 603 pin xeon(lv) 1.5-2.0ghz
asus pc-cl (I hear it overclocks better than others)

oc'd dual athlon mp's
mobo?

Basically which config. would overclock and serve my purpose better? I'd like to keep the cost of each node to about $500 (my total budget is $2000) and build around 4 of them yet have a stable system (have my cake and eat it too)! Each node will have 1gb ram for swap, minimal hd (enough to install an os and necessary software), cdrw, and a case large enough to ventilate + filter such a beast. Also, what is a reliable powersupply since these systems will be overclocked?

Thanks for all the help and advice I really need and appreciate it!

If you can find four PC-DLs and eight 1.6LV D1 Xeons that is the way to go. Figure the cost as:

Used/Refurb Asus PC-DL - $150
2 x 1.6LV D1 604 Xeons - $125
2 x Intel Retail HS/Fans - $25
2 x 512MB Corsair Value Select PC3200 - $75
Regular ATX Case - $35
AMS Mercury 460W EPS12V PS - $65
80GB HD - $50
CDRW - $25
Any PCI video card - $15