• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

first things first!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

GERRY136

just gettin started here with my first post. yes i am new to this stuff but im becoming more addicted the more i read!!!!
i have no chip sensors in my stock puter according to mbm. so how else can i get some decent readings for before and after the oc?

i will try to figure out how to post my puters specs with this but for now its a stock gateway amd athlon 600 w 7200rpm hd 8mb. voodoo lol. thanx for any help.

You most likely won't be able to do a good overclock with a stock Gateway. You'll need a different motherboard, if you have a socket A (vs. slot A) cpu, I'd reccommend what I have, Abit's KT7A. Gateway's stock motherboard almost definately won't let you change the settings you'll need to in order to overclock. It's very likely that you have slot A, but I'm not familiar with slot A motherboards that are good for overclocking. If you still have stock cooling on the CPU, I would highly reccommend getting a quality heatsink, there's plenty of reviews, etc. on this site to help you find a good heatsink/fan combo.

Hey Gerry136, my real names Gerry too. I pronounce it more like Gary ecept with the E sound instead of the A. Most people say I should pronounce it Jerry. WTF. Welcome to Overclockers.com! This site has some great and knowledgable members. Afraid he's right about your mobo not being too good for OC'ing. I am waiting on a board to replace my Hewlwtt Packard P2B for the same reason. The OEM manufacturers have their boards custom built in a way that severely limits tweaking.