• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Floppy Drive Problem

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

mrm1957

Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2002
Location
Camp Lejeune, North Carolina
Just put in a new floppy drive and when I put in different disks it
always asks to put in a disk. The drive lights up and when you put a disk in it clicks so I know it's working but won't read any of them. I even tried the boot disk and it won't read that.
Any ideas what might be wrong !!!
 

David

Forums Super Moderator
Joined
Feb 20, 2001
Is the cable on correctly?

Do the disks work in other PCs?

What OS does your PC run? Are the disks formatted?

David
 
OP
mrm1957

mrm1957

Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2002
Location
Camp Lejeune, North Carolina
Yes the disks work in my other PC.
Win ME, Yes the disks have info on them.
Don't think it's a cable cause the lights are woking and the
device manager says it's OK.
 

David

Forums Super Moderator
Joined
Feb 20, 2001
mrm1957 said:
Yes the disks work in my other PC.
Win ME, Yes the disks have info on them.
Don't think it's a cable cause the lights are woking and the
device manager says it's OK.

Can you boot off of the floppy drive? Ie if you stick a floppy in and boot will the computer boot off the floppy.

Are the BIOS options for the floppy drive set up correctly?

David
 

CrystalMethod

Senior Band Wagon Jumper
Joined
Jun 9, 2001
Location
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
eab said:
maybe you have the drive cable plugged in the wrong way. Or maybe its just shot! If you have a spare drive maybe try using that one.

I don't think he has the cable plugged in the wrong way. When you do that the floppy drive light will stay on wether there's a disk in it or not usually.

Have you tried the actual floppy drive in your other system yet?