• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

FSB Question

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

mayagrafix

Member
Joined
May 2, 2002
Location
Mexico
Whats is better:

running a P4 with a stock 400 FSB (quad pumped 100 FSB)
OR
user defined FSB (maybe up to 225 FSB) with higher multiplier

its a 2.4 Northwood and I am happy with the performance so an overclock of under 3 gig is ok.
 

daNo-

Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2003
I didn't really get your question;

Make yourself more clear on what your asking, maybe you can list your specs and people can start helping you out.
 

mkoersvelt

Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2003
Location
Winnipeg,Canada (EH!)
FBS

I should have requested more specs before replying as well.

Cpu ? step0-1-2? I.D.?
Motherboard?
Ram? type?

Be very specific please so you get the right info.
 

raven

Member
Joined
Sep 11, 2002
Location
Toronto
First of all, your multiplier is locked on the P4 unless you have an ES (engineering Sample ) chip.

second of all, run your FSB as high as possible as long as it is stabe, but make sure your memory is running at 1:1 ratio because that gives you the best performance. Laster on you can change your ratio and then maybe increase your FSB. Though I highly doubt that your chip will go up to 225 FSB because on the intel 2.4 with 400Mhz bus, its multiplier is locked at 24, and therefor, 225 * 24 = 5.4GHz.

What i think your getting confused about is that, even tho the FSB is User Defined, the quad pumped will still apply so with a FSB of 225 * 4 = 900FSB. So just use user defined, and raise your FSB from 100 to whatever is stable for you.


Raven
 
OP
mayagrafix

mayagrafix

Member
Joined
May 2, 2002
Location
Mexico
Thanks for the info guys...

Yup, everytime I increased the FSB in the MoBo setup the thing would lock up and refuse to boot. Back to 24 x 100 for now!
 

batboy

Senior Moment
Joined
Jan 12, 2001
Location
Kansas, USA
Ok, we need to know what motherboard you have. If there is a way to fix or lock the PCI/AGP to default speed (33/66), then that's the first thing to do. How high are you trying to set the FSB? With a 24X multiplier, a really high FSB just plain won't work. Try a small increase at first to just see what happens, like maybe 108 FSB (that will give you almost 2.6 gig).