• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Help Overclock Phenom II X6 1600T (Unlocked 960T)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Jofi

Hello, I have been using this CPU for almost year now it's amazing! Unlocked 2 extra cores without problems :)

So I just finished installing new cooler (Scythe Mugen 3 rev. B) and it does very well in this pretty small case (Antec Sonata II), CPU temp about 35°C idle and ~50°C max.
Now I would like overclock this monster to get better FPS in games. What I have tested so far is only raising multiplier and let other settings be on Auto, disabled CnQ, C1E & CoreTurbo.
With 6 cores unlocked, x17 (3400MHz) is far as I can go without getting bluescreen. With 4 cores x18, but I found out 6 cores gave better FPS on Battlefield 3.
I'm kinda new with overcloking so I didn't touch other settings yet, scared I will fry my mobo or break cpu..
:cry:

Specs:
Asus M5A78L-M/USB3
AMD Phenom II x4 960T 3.4GHz @ x6 Unlocked
Scythe Mugen 3 rev. B
Kingston HyperX 2x4GB, DDR3 1600MHz, CL9
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560Ti

My RAM is running currently at 669.7 MHz instead of 800 which it should be (?) because this mobo supports "2000(O.C.)/1866(O.C.)/1800(O.C.)/1600(O.C.)/1333/1066 MHz".
I enabled 1600Mhz from bios but after 3h playing BF3 I got bluescreen so I set it back to normal. Not sure if it was because of RAM..

BIOS Settings:
biosc.jpg
bios2v.png
CPU-Z & HWMonitor: (TMPIN0 = CPU)
cpuzgj.png
So I would like to overclock this CPU but what settings I should change next and how far is safe to go with this board? :)

Also BIOS says CPU Over Voltage is VCore but does this mean I can set here my vcore or is this how much will be added to stock voltages?
When i press + once, CPU Over Voltage changes to 1.050000 from AUTO next press changes it to 1.053125 and so on.