• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

How good of a cooler do I need before I overclock this?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

dezroba

Hi all. I'm a complete newbie, but I'm planning on doing some research myself, so I'm begging not to be mocked or put down. :bday:

First of all, I intend to get a new cooler before I overclock my 8 years old computer.
Here are the specifications:
motherboard MS-6330 ATX
processor AMD Duron Spitfire 900MHz, Bus speed 100MHz.
128MB SDRAM

As you can guess, it's rather slow and weak. I was thinking of adding 512MB more of RAM, and since I can only find PC133 in local shops (I'm from Croatia), I was thinking I'd overclock the CPU so it would fit... Before I do that I must install a new cooler. Would it be enough if I got a passive cooler and used thermal grease? (in these 8 years I did nothing in that matter. CPU's temperature is 47°C at normal usage.)

Last edited:
well this will be a good learning point for you .. i wouldnt buy a new heatsink personally .. id just get some good thermal goop and make sure you have the best fan in your machine cooling your heatsink .. ill look up your mobo just to see whats available in the options .. but work with what you have first .. putting money into really wouldn't be the best idea in my opinion unless once you get access to classifieds and get stuff for dirt cheap and want to do some super duper fast web browsing :)D) ..

Thanks for the reply!

Err, I wouldn't mind it being able to play and burn DVD's (which it can't at the moment, and not only because it doesn't yet have the DVD-ROM in it). :(

Yes, I didn't mention that working with what I have is the primary option. Cause I'm cheap, there. :(