• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

I need a cheap and beefy case

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ookabooka

Currently I have a good antec case, with slideable 3" bays and rack (little plastic sliding doohickeys) 5" bays. Unfortunately my 3" drives hang out a bit and block part of the motherboard, I have 4 3" currently so I need the space.

My main concern is getting one thats cheap (I'm a college student) and has enough space to fit all my hd's without blocking the motherboard. Any ideas? I'd look at the cases myself but I can't tell if the 3" drives would fit flush against the case or would poke out the back a bit and block the mobo :-/

P.S. I may be migrating to watercooling in the future, so if it had space for that too that'd be awesome.

edit: my mobo is asus l1n64, the 2x athlon fx mobo.

Last edited:
This case can be had for very cheap. All of my folding machines use it, and I was supremely impressed by its quality/price ratio. Tooless install, sturdy (and heavy), two quiet 120mm fans with air filters, it's very quiet overall and is a killer deal for $40.00.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811147033

I like that one, only problem is I do have a UV cold cathode in there with uv cables. . .would be nice if it had a window on the side :-/ It appears though that the 3" drives won't protrude into the mobo area though, which I definitely like, huge nuisance on my current case.

edit: This case is almost identical to my current one http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811223001

Well, it certainly does not get any style points, it's very plain. But you could always make your own window.