• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

I need help on a few things to finish my first build

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

simjracer

Hi im new to all this so sorry if it i posted this in the wrong place and new to building and upgrading so i need help on upgrading 5 things.

this is what i got so far

CPU : AMD SEMPRON 140 2.7GHz AM3 want to upgrade to a fx bulldozer
MB : ASRock 960GM-GS3 FX
HHD : SEAGATE 300GB INTERNAL SATA II 7200RPM (want to upgrade to a better/faster and bigger one in time)
RAM : Kingston 4GB DDR3 Memory Module 1066MHz going to upgrade to a Kingston HyperX 8GB (2x4GB) Memory Kit 1600MHz DDR3
PSU : unknow 500watts (it came with the case with no GPU 6 pin)
case: Envizage 735 Miditower (found on ebay)
GPU : on MB but want to upgrade to a Radeon HD 6870 XFX
ROM: LiteOn IHAS124-19B 24X DVD±RW Writer ( X2 )

I would like some help in these areas please
which bulldozer is the better one ?
Is the GPU good for today gaming and could i run 3 monitors with this on one card (amd eyefinity)
A good CPU cooler ?
A better HHD ? ( will upgrade next month or so)
The last and the main one is what PSU do i need to power all this ?

i would like this to last for some years has it is for my kids to use when they visit me
I mainly will use it to play games, facebook games, downloading and to watch films

Any help or advice would be great and i got about £350 for the CPU + cooler, GPU, PSU, RAM
Thanks for any help
simon