• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Intel i5 4690K paired with ASUS Z97-a Overclock help

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

IAmWatts

Hey everyone

I came across this forum when researching info on doing my first ever overclock. I did do a search for past threads on this, but I could not find any answers with my setup. I'm relatively new to PC gaming, and build my PC only a couple months back which was also my first time ever, but tried to buy components with the capability of future overclocking. Because I'm a streamer Id like to get 4-4.2ghz out of the 4690k. I know some go higher but Id like to keep this a mild overclock as safe as possible.

My Specs:
CPU: i5 4690K
Cooler: CM Hyper 212 EVO
RAM: 8GB G.Skill
MOBO: ASUS 97-a
GPU: GTX960
Storage: 120GB SSD. 1TB HD

I just don't know where to start, and im not entirely sure if Im capable of doing this OC with this setup. If someone can point me in the right direction, or even walk me through this it would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance everyone!

Watts

Thanks for the fast response ATM

No I did not go through the sticky but will get into it right now.

I'm sure you'll have some questions after that, but they'll be more specific for sure :)