• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Intel® Core™ i7-6950X Processor Overclock Temperatures Conformation (4.2 GHz)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

TheCaNi

Good afternoon,

I am new to the Overclocker's forums and I have a quick question regarding my recently acquired Intel® Core™ i7-6950X Processor.

What are the ideal idle CPU package temperatures? I am currently idling between 45 - 48 degrees with my full load temperatures reaching 70-75 degrees. Am I safe to say that these temperatures are normal for a 4.2 GHz overclock (closed loop)? My friend who has a Intel® Core™ 6700K @ 4.8 GHz (custom loop) has similiar temperatures and he stated "those temptures are fine"; I feel unconvienced.

This is my first extreme processor and I have never seen temputures like this on any processor (usual idle: 35-40 degrees/usual full load: 60-65 degrees) and it is hard to find a direct answer online.

My system specifcations are stated below:

Computer Specifications:

Case: Corsair Graphite Series 760T
Processor: Intel Core i7-6950X Processor @ 4.2GHz
Processor Cooling: Corsair Hydro Series H115i
Memory: Corsair Vengeance LED (128 GB) @ 3200MHz
Video Card Configuration: 2x GeForce GTX 1080 (HB/SLI/OC)
Motherboard: Asus ROG RAMPAGE V EDITION 10
Primary Hard Drive: Samsung 950 PRO (512GB) (M.2)
Secondary Hard Drive: 4TB Seagate HDD (7200RPM)
Tertiary Hard Drive: 4TB Seagate HDD (7200RPM)
Quaternary Hard Drive: 4TB Seagate HDD (7200RPM)
Power Supply: Corsair AX1500i Digital ATX (Platinum Certified)
Operating System: Windows 10 Professional

Any help is appiecated. Thank you in advance.

CaNi :D

Last edited:
Welcome :)