• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Is my new 6950 broken? am i useing it wrong? plz help

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

hixy

Hallo,

So, this week i got my new 6950 and installed it right away.
first thing that happend was that the PC would not boot, it would blow all fan's to a 100%, then give the bios beep, and then not show anything on the monitors. after it did boot up i ofc first downloaded the driver, i got noted by some one that there was a hotfix, so i downloaded the hotfix for my driver two.

then when i started playing wow (everything on ultra), i noticed (using fraphs) that my FPS was still at 15 in SW. this is the same as my old 4850, so that sucked....

so i went and did some tests in the CCC, turned up some graphics, turned some off.

funny enought, it did not help at all.

so, wondering what to do next, i started to play some other games to see there FPS.
- BFBC 2 20 FPS
- hot pursuit 2010 15-20 FPS, this kind of scared me, since i remeber quite clearly i used to have 25-30 FPS on my 4850 in hot pursuit...

while searching some more in the CCC i saw that the heat went up to 75C while gaming.
now i must honestly say i dont know mutch about the heat a GPU normaly makes, it still kind of scared me and i could not find anything about it useing google.

all and all this makes me verry sad, so in my sadness i logged back into wow with CCC settings on as low as posible. to my suprise i saw that all my fronts where completey diffrend, all the fronts in wow looked like they had -10 AA.
so i turned the settings up again. no improvement.
i checked other games, they did not have this problem.
so i reinstalled wow into anoter folder, it helped.
so i gess that was not in my vid card.

i did not overclock this card or flashed it to 6970.