• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Is the Winchester a bug or hardware limitation in the K8N Neo4 Platinum nForce4 Ultra

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Cytomax

Is the Winchester a bug or hardware limitation in the K8N Neo4 Platinum nForce4 Ultra

Hello all i am in the process of building my rig and my last thing that im worried about is what nforce 4 ultra motherboard to get. Ive been building computers for 4+ years and researched this topic to no end in the forums and reading reviews. I have basically narrowed the mainboards down to DFI and MSI. I would go with DFI just seems to have way to many things to tweak and play with and im just not that crazy an OCer. I would like to go with MSI but im kinda scared about this Winchester bug that doesnt allow people to get past 220 on the HTT (or w/e you call the FSB now). Is this a confirmed bug and will be hopefully fixed in a later bios or is this a hardware limitation and will never be fixed?

If you know of any other incompatibilites for the other components i have picked please let me know.

AMD64 3000 Winchester
X800XL
1 Gig of PC 3200 (2 X 512) Corsair
Audigy 2 ZS Gamer Edition
Raptor WD740GD

Thanks in Advance,
Eddie

I have almost the exact same setup you do with a Neo4-F (same as platinum minus some goodies) and it has the bug with my 3000+ Winchester. Can't go over 220 FSB. Period.

I am in desperate need of help too, I hope that the Venice cores magicaly solve this and it's not the mobo.

Its a very common problem with winnies and Neo4 boards, I have not kept up with the problem here of late. But i think some have found work arounds at MSI forums Here