• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Low Core Voltage for QX9650 on EVGA 780i???

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Nimishim

Firstly, let me state that I am a complete noob to overclocking and that I am new to the forums.

I have been able to stabily (meaning I ran Prime95 cpu stress test for 6 hours with no errors and stable temps) overclock my new system of a QX9560 processor and EVGA 780i motherboard to 3.6 gHz. The bigest thing I have found so far is that I need to use alot less core voltage than most others are posting. Granted, after running the test at 3.6gHz, it will occasionally freeze up on Everquest 2 with all the settings on max in window mode and running ventrillo and coretemp still. Is this what others are finding or am I just too early in the testing to see problems?

I will post my observations of attempting this after I list my specs and settings of my current stabile 3.6 gHz settings:

Specs:
Motherboard: Evga nForce 780i SLI 775 – Bios P03
Processor: (Quad-Core)Intel® Core™ 2 Extreme QX9650 @ 3.00GHz 1333FSB 12MB L2 Cache 64-bit
Memory: (2x1GB) PC6400 DDR2/800 Dual Channel Memory (Corsair XMS2 Xtreme Memory w/ Heat Spreader
Case : CoolerMaster Stacker 830 Tower 420W Case W/ Side-panel Window
CD: LG 20X DVD±R/±RW + CD-R/RW DRIVE DUAL LAYER
Cooling: Thermalright 120 ultra
HDD: Single Hard Drive (1TB (500GBx2) SATA-II 3.0Gb/s 16MB Cache 7200RPM Raid 0 config
Video: 2X [XFX Geforce 8800 gtx 756 ddr3] in SLI configuration
Powersupply: CoolerMaster 1,000 Watts Real Power Pro - Quad SLI Ready
Operating System: Vista Business 32 bit

Bios Settings: Setting Actual
System Clock:
CPU Multiplier: 12x*
CPU (N/2 Ratio) [Enabled]*
PCIex 16.3, Mz 100
SPP <-> M Ref Clock Mhz [Auto] 200
nForce SPP  nForce MCP [5x]
nForce SPP nForce MCP [5x]
HT Spread Spectrum [Auto]