• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New to OCF and Rigs! Help!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Lolek

Registered
Hey! Long story short, I'm new to building computer systems from scratch, and to overclocking at all. I've spent the last week juggling prices, researching 'til my eyes hurt, and altogether realizing what kind of massive commitment and learning experience... And I love it!

I'm on a relatively tight budget, but don't be overly concerned about that. The target for this build is a moderately 'future-proof' (as if there is such a thing!), mid-to-high-end machine primarily for 3D rendering/animation (though that'd include 2D digital artwork), gaming is a nice plus, general workstation use, and potentially later use with an audio hobby :)

For as much as I thought I was educated, and have tried to cram the past week or so, I'm really still in the dark about specifics. It's amazing how everything has to fit together just right!
I'd really appreciate suggestions ("is this good?" and "This would be a better choice~") on the system I've pieced together. The only component I've actually purchased at this point is the case. Everything else is still up for change!

I initially wanted to keep everything below $700, but that was a joke, I soon realized. Now it seems a more realistic estimate (assuming a single GPU, SLI or not) would be $1000-$1200, not even as a maximum. : /
I've been primarily using Newegg. Seems to be the best source for the quality of components I need.

CASE: Thermaltake Armor Series VA8003BWS [Bought / $149-$80MIR]
I fell in love. A little bit of an impulse buy, but I doubt I'll regret it. :) Not much to say here, except it's a MAMMOTH and appears to be highly expandable. if I take good care of it, I could probably recycle it for my next rig.