• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

newbie psu questions

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

splat

ASCII Moderator
I'm new to over clocking and building computers from scratch for that matter. I recently built a 1.8 ghz machine with a willamette processor, asus p4b266 motherboard, mushkin 256mb pc2100 ddr, 300w FSP Group power supply. Everything else was from my old computer....4x dvd, 8x cdrw, 15gig 7200rpm ata66, various pci and agp vid cards (i don't think those r creating any problem, tho i know they take up pwer too.) When i bought my psu, i asked the shop i bought it from if i needed a 400w for a pentium 4, cause i noticed most systems had that. he said that 300w would be fine and 400 was for people whowere connecting 3 or more hard drives. I just got a ata100 7200rpm 60gig hd and put it in, then i tried to install a new game. it took forever to install of the cd, and i just chalked that up to being a big game. but then i put another cd in to my cdrw and that took forever to browse it. when i say forever i mean what felt like a minute or 2 to open up in my computer. so thats when i started doubting my psu. a friend of mine says i should get a 500w just to be safe. I'm planning on buying a new dvd drive and a new cdrw, or maybe jsut a combo drive this summer. is 500w the way to go?