• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

OCing E8500 on a DFI DK P45

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Jake-O-Matic

Hello,

I'm pretty new to overclocking. Though I have been doing a lot of reading, I still need some help.

My setup:

CPU: E8500 (C0)
Mobo: DFI LanParty DK P45 T2RS
Mem: OCZ Reaper 1066 2x2Gb
PSU: Thermaltake ThoughPower 600W
CPU Cooler: Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme + Scyth S-Flex 120mm 1200RPM fan
Graphics: Gigabyte HD 4870
Case: Thermaltake m5 with 2 120mm fans (currently open)

Goal:

Reaching the best stable 24/7 OC possible.

Currently, I've been able to get the CPU to 4Ghz (9.5x425) with vcore of 1.36V (sometimes dropping to 1.344 under load). The RAM is running at an FSB of 510Mhz (5-5-5-15) at 2.19v (haven't touched any other memory settings yet). The FSB VTT is 1.18V and the NB voltage is 1.15V. These settings are Prime95 stable for a few hours. The temp of the cores is around 54-61 (with at least 5 degrees difference between the cores) according to real temp. Speedfan's readings are usually about 10 degrees higher.

I tried to raise the FSB to 433 but the machine hung under load. I tried to lower the multiplier and increase the FSB (by a large margin) and the voltages and nothing good came out of it (most of the time, I failed the POST).

My question is, how do I proceed from here? I know I can get more out of this gear, especially out of the memory, but I just don't seem to be able to go over 425 FSB.

Any ideas to what settings I should try? What are the safe voltages? Which voltages/options should I tweak in order to get a higher FSB?

I am running close to the same thing, except I have the DFI Blood Iron P35 and I had to
drop my Multiplier 7.5 @ 533.23 MHz in order to get the ram to run at the correct speed.