• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

On the virge of converting to intel....need opinions please.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Hysteria

Registered
You can see in my signature what I am currently running. I have been curious about the P4s since the northwoods were released. Now I am looking at the Abit SD7-533 using the memory I already have and a 1.8gig P4 nw. I have many questions as I am a newbie to this whole intel game.

Will I see a gain in performance over my current setup with an watercooled, overclocked 1.8?

Is it worth the extra 60-70$ for the 1.8 versus the 1.6?

Is the abit sd7-533 a good overclocking board? Does it have vdimm and vcore adjustments? Can it run asynchronous memory timings (ie 133cpu/166mem)?

What other things do I need to be aware of or concerned with if and when I convert :)?

I would greatly appreciate any advice you guys could give me as I am totally clueless when it comes to intel systems....thanks

a watercooled 1.8 has a good chance of hittin 2.8-3GHZ so i would say yes you would probably ee a difference....i

Can you guys tell me which board that supports ddr333 has the most vdimm and vcore options. I was digging into the sd7-533 and it doesn't appear to have the greatest options. Am I wrong about this and if not what board does have good options?

If you are not in a hurry you might wait until the new sis 645dx boaud from Asus comes out (P4s533) or if you can not wait look at the current Asus p4s333, from what I read you can flash it with the p4s533 bios and get 4/6 dividers but it doesnt hve the new dx chip set. I have read good reviews though. I am personely thinking of the p4s533 w/1.8a when they are available. Soon! I hope.
Good luck, no matter I think you will be happy

OR.....,,,,

you could just with for the AMD T-BREDS to come out,