• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overclocking a Q6600, help a newbie out please!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

dnomzz

Registered
Hey people,

I recently bought a Q6600 and read it's a perfect piece of chip to overclock. The thing is I don't want to fry it right after getting it and since I'm a newbie at this I would like some expert's advice on what settings I should run it at.

This will be my rig running it:

MSI G31M3 V2 (MS-7529)
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 260
Intel® Core 2 Quad Processor Q6600 (8M Cache, 2.40 GHz, 1066 MHz FSB)
DIMM1: Kingston 2G-UDIMM 2 GB DDR2-667 DDR2 SDRAM (5-5-5-15 @ 333 Mhz) (4-4-4-12 @ 266 Mhz) (3-3-3-9 @ 200 Mhz)
DIMM3: A-Data 2 GB DDR2-800 DDR2 SDRAM (5-5-5-18 @ 400 Mhz) (4-4-4-12 @ 266 Mhz) (3-3-3-9 @ 200 Mhz)

Could someone tell me what amount of GHz would be safe? I don't really have to push it to 3.2 GHz or anything, not for now anyway. But a boost is always welcome and if it would be able to go on for example 2.7 or 2.8 that would be sweet already. :thup:

And please be detailed... as im new to this. :chair:

I'm missing a lot of the options mentioned there.

20111121161033.jpg

Hey there,

It's always a good start to read the sticky first. It would also greatly help us out in knowing which type of cooling you're using. "Safe" is a relative term when it comes to overclocking, but I personally wont have my core2quad running above 65 degrees Celsius at full load... But more on that later.

If you are on stock cooling, than that will significantly lower your chances of a "safe" and stable overclock. These quads start to run hot when you start turning up the voltage. I would say that 3.0ghz on a Q6600 is very very achievable and almost guaranteed if you have a g0 stepping chip.