• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overclocking Intel Core 2 Quad Q8200 Quad-Core 2.33GHz

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Jarrnou

Hello everyone!

I'm new to everything overclocking and to building a gaming pc in general and would really like your help!

i'm trying to get at least 3.0 ghz stable out of my Intel Core 2 Quad Q8200

My specs:

GPU: MSI GeForce GTX 660 2GB Twin Frozr III OC

Ram:
Slot 1 : Kingston DDR2 2048 Mbytes 400mhz
Slot 2 : Corsair DDR2 2048 Mbytes 400mhz
Slot 3 : Kingston DDR2 2048 Mbytes 400mhz
Slot 4 : Corsair DDR2 2048 Mbytes 400mhz

Motherboard: P5Q SE2

Cpu clock ratio: 7

The psu is a ALMAN ZM850-HP 850W, cpu cooler is Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro Rev. 2.

The temps have been around 50-60 celcius after i've
been fooling around in the bios and adjusting only the Cpu host frequency to around 417 with everything else on auto, i have no idea what else to change there.

Core 0 Temp under load is 67celcius

Cpu-z Vcore is 1.160v

my voltage is set to 1.2375v on bios
and im now running on @ 2.90ghz , if i go any higher the resolution goes all weird.

it's been QUITE stable with these settings but sometimes it blue screens.

Would really appreciate all the help!

I won't be much help but I'd be interested in the results of this as its nearly the same CPU as my roommate who is also looking to OC.

Best of luck :)