• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

P4 2.4 Northwood 533mhz Overclock advice

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

lordamus

Registered
Joined
Mar 12, 2007
Hi all,

I`ve p4 2.4 northwood 533mhz old cpu I want to oc this to 2.8-3.0 with stock fan.. Now I tryed 2.700 (for test) seems no prblem.. voltage is default pci agp 66mhz. Whats the best combination for me to go 2.8-3.0 with stock fan ? Here is my specs:

Epox EP-4PDA2+ Intel 865PE Samsung 512*2 dual ddr400 cl3

Field Value
CPU Properties
CPU Type Intel Pentium 4
CPU Alias Northwood
CPU Stepping D1
Engineering Sample No
CPUID CPU Name Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.40GHz
CPUID Revision 00000F29h

CPU Speed
CPU Clock 2713.2 MHz (original: 2400 MHz, overclock: 13%)
CPU Multiplier 18.0x
CPU FSB 150.7 MHz (original: 133 MHz, overclock: 13%)
Memory Bus 188.4 MHz
DRAM:FSB Ratio 5:4

CPU Cache
L1 Trace Cache 12K Instructions
L1 Data Cache 8 KB
L2 Cache 512 KB (On-Die, ECC, ATC, Full-Speed)

Motherboard Properties
Motherboard ID 03/19/2004-Springdale-PE-6A79APADC-00
Motherboard Name Epox EP-4PDA2+ (5 PCI, 1 AGP, 4 DDR DIMM, Audio, Gigabit LAN)

Chipset Properties
Motherboard Chipset Intel Springdale i865PE
Memory Timings 2.5-3-3-7 (CL-RCD-RP-RAS)
PAT Disabled

SPD Memory Modules
DIMM1: Samsung M3 68L6423ETM-CC4 512 MB PC3200 DDR SDRAM (3.0-4-4-8 @ 200 MHz) (2.5-3-3-7 @ 166 MHz)
DIMM3: Samsung M3 68L6423ETM-CC4 512 MB PC3200 DDR SDRAM (3.0-4-4-8 @ 200 MHz) (2.5-3-3-7 @ 166 MHz)

BIOS Properties
System BIOS Date 03/19/04
Video BIOS Date 04/01/15
Award BIOS Type Phoenix - AwardBIOS v6.00PG
Award BIOS Message 03/19/2004 For Intel Springdale-PE Chipset
DMI BIOS Version 6.00 PG

Graphics Processor Properties
Video Adapter ATI Radeon 9600 (RV350)
GPU Code Name RV350 (AGP 8x 1002 / 4150, Rev 00)
GPU Clock 392 MHz (original: 400 MHz)
Memory Clock 202 MHz (original: 203 MHz)
 

Attachments

  • mysetup.png
    mysetup.png
    194.1 KB · Views: 187

Vento1

Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2004
Location
Swindon England
Welcome to the forums Lordamus one of the first things you nead to do is fix the pci/agp frequency at 33.3mhz once these are fixed you should then try upping fsb until your system becomes unstable then up the vcore a little and try again keeping a close eye on your temps.
 
OP
L

lordamus

Registered
Joined
Mar 12, 2007
Thanx..now my fsb 150.7mhz 2.700 ghz pci/agp fixed 33mhz and temps idle 29-35 on full load 45-50-55.. I dont want to change cpu voltage coz I`ve stock fan ;> and my PSU not very good.. Can I go 2.800 without increase voltage? and my ddr rams is it capable for it ? (its not bad rams anyway)
 

Peepaw

Member
Joined
May 14, 2005
Location
Warner Robins, Ga
lordamus said:
Thanx..now my fsb 150.7mhz 2.700 ghz pci/agp fixed 33mhz and temps idle 29-35 on full load 45-50-55.. I dont want to change cpu voltage coz I`ve stock fan ;> and my PSU not very good.. Can I go 2.800 without increase voltage? and my ddr rams is it capable for it ? (its not bad rams anyway)

What do you mean by (and my PSU not very good)?
 

JLK03F150

What have I done! Member
Joined
May 17, 2005
Location
Georgia
Yeah, if your load temps are reaching into the 50C's then you have reached your max overclock with the cooling you are using. Only if you upgrade the cpu cooling should you can try to go farther.
 
OP
L

lordamus

Registered
Joined
Mar 12, 2007
I mean voltages not very stable and if I increase cpu voltage it will be more hot right ? so its not a good idea for stock fan setup ;> my fan speed 2721 rpm low ha.. My Psu FSP real 250 watt.. yea it seems I must buy better fan for 2.8-3.0 speeds ;>
 

gruvin2

Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2003
Location
Baltimore, MD
Welcome to the forums lordamus!

From what i can see your setup should be fine to hit 2.8 with the stock CPU fan. Just make sure you have your pci/agp locked to 33/66 and memory should fine, but to be sure lock it to default as well so you will be sure nothing else is holding you back. If you find it unable or unstable you can up your Vcore to 1.55 for example. That little bit will increase your temps only a couple degrees. As long as you can stay under 60c your CPU is safe. let us know how it goes.
 
OP
L

lordamus

Registered
Joined
Mar 12, 2007
Thanx.. I`ll try 2.8 soon.. yeah pci/agp fixed to 33/66 my memory as u can see setup samsung ddr400 dual cl3.. memory clock 188.4mhz now I cant fix it to default from bios.. ok..
 

JLK03F150

What have I done! Member
Joined
May 17, 2005
Location
Georgia
lordamus said:
Maybe I can go 2.8 with stock fan for reasonable temps.. 156fsb*18=2800

bt is this good? http://www.coolermaster.com/index.p...=RR-UMR-P9U1&other_title=RR-UMR-P9U1Vortex TX some1 selling this for a 31$ second hand..
That looks like it should do a good job. It might be a little loud if it reaches full speed though. Be sure to get so good thermal compound too.

Into the 70C's is safe with a northwood, but IMO over 55C is too high for a stable overclocked northy.
 

WeldZilla

Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2004
By all means lordamus try turning it up to 156 or even 160. If it boots then just watch your temps. If they stay good then leave it there. If they go bad then turn it back down and get a better cpu cooler. That motherboard with the right cooling will take that chip to 3000 and beyond with NO problems.
It took my 2.4C to 3710mhz with no probs. I believe it to be the best 478 socket board ever built! I just ordered another one of those boards cuz I have a 30cap 2.8 sitting here aswell as some G.Skill 4400LE that needs to get back to work. I will be using a little Vantec copper cooler and I expect to easily run daily at 250fsb for a speed of 3500 without any hints of trouble at all. I will run my memory on the 1:1 with PAT enabled. here is the PSU I am going to use with my set up.
http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/ProductDetail.jsp?ProductCode=370565
Good price, plenty of power for these older setups and it has good rails.

WZ
 
OP
L

lordamus

Registered
Joined
Mar 12, 2007
yeah seems good cooler but little bit expensive for me..

Now I hit 2.8 156*18 idle 30-36 full load 39-44-56 very changing..I set dram:fsb 1:1 312mhz it was 4:5 390mhz which one is good ? it look rams going lower speeds now.. Yes very good motherboard but it has some sensor problems winbond w83627hf sometimes it show cpu 85c but its not u know..wow 3710mhz ha very good..looks good psu I`m still using FSP 250watt. do u remember any hints tweaks for my mboard bios ? how to enable PAT and why ?