• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

p4 3.4 what speed can i get?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

paul.1clarke

Registered
right im still a bit new to this so here goes
heres my system

p4 3.4 cpu
asus p4c800 deluxe-e
15,000 rpm scsi drive
512mb ocz pc 3700
alpha heatsink and fan
radeon 9800 pro
xaserIII case

right what speed can reach with this im not sure what to do with the memory timings and all that my 3d mark 01 score is 16,400 at standard speed i get 17,600 at 3.8 but i used to get 16,800 with my 3 gig cpu it went down when i put the 3.4 in also i get 44 oC under load is that about right im thinking of watercooling but not sure which gear to buy
thx in advance for any help

With GOOD air cooling, you can probably hit between 3.7 and 3.9ghz depending on luck and how much voltage you want to feed it and how hot you're comfortable letting it get. With GOOD watercooling, 3.9ghz is probably very likely and maybe even breaking into the 4ghz arena...

If you threw it under a phase change system, it seems most of these are doing between 4.2-4.4ghz and not a significant amount more.

I have a 3.4c running now, It'll do 4016 Water Cooled with chilled water, but needs 1.75 to stay there stable. So, I run it at 3960 daily at 1.675 volts, without a hitch.

I've tested 3 P4 3.4's.

The first only did 3650 mhz rock stable, and that was with good cooling (not stock hsf). 3700 mhz was the absolute upper limit before I'd start getting crashes in games /bluescreen. With retail HSF, the chip barely did 3.6 ghz.

The second does 3850 mhz, stable enough for gaming (1.7v bios--drops to 1.63 under load).

The third does 3900 stable enough for games (1.7v; again this is 1.63-1.65 under load).