• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

PC-Case conducts energy

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

f4k3

Registered
Hello there!

I just built a brand new system with all new components but i have the problem that my pc case conducts energy. This means as soon as i touch the case i can feel the energy floating through my body which leads to an unpleasant pain(even when i just touch the USB-Ports). First thing i did was to buy an outlet tester. I checked all the outlets for errors but all of them are all right.

Now i am already out of ideas because this is really not my area of expertise. I do have a multimeter but i am an absolute noob when it comes to using it :D

If anyone has an idea what the cause could be or show me how to find the error i would absolutely appreciate it!

Thanks!

If you really can feel something going through the case it means somewhere you have a short.

TURN OFF THE PC IMMEDIATELY

If it is a short you have been lucky so far not to lose all your components or at least the motherboard. And lucky not to hurt yourself.

When you built the pc did you use the motherboard standoff’s that go in the case?

I would suggest disassembling your pc and starting again making sure all standoff’s have been used and you haven’t dropped a screw in the case somewhere.

Failing that it could be a cheap case and one of the USB ports or something is live to your case.

Thank you very much for your reply! The case i am using is a "Be quiet silent base 600". The thing is that there were no motherboard stand offs! And even if there would have been some, if i would install them the motherboard would not fit anymore in the case because of the height! I think the standoffs are already integrated in the case, right??? Have a look here:

BQSB600_13.jpg