• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Portable amps and dacs

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Puer Aeternus

I am new to the audio game and looking for some advice on getting a dac/amp for my phone.
Quick background:
I got a taste for good sound and been researching the confusing and expensive world of Audio. I have decided that I want to stick w/ a MP3 player as I can listen to tunes anywhere around the house. A dedicated DAP w/ android will likely have limited life if android is not updated for the apps I use. I figure my phone will always be updated and new tech. An amp/dac will just increase the sound quality.

I have:
  • Sennheiser HD 280 PRO - New Model (chose these for the price and Z review sold me on them)
  • Fiio A3 Portable Amp

Question:
If listening to You tube music at 320kbps..will a Fiio q5s or Monolith be a big improvement over my Fiio A3 or even worth it. I may try tidal but not sure I want to pay for another streaming service even though its high res music.

What would you do if starting out w/ Audio for the first time. Its a money sink so I want to make a good choice that will last a while and mitigate the upgrade bug if possible.

First question - what phone do you have?

Surprisingly, this does make a difference. My current phone - Moto Z4 - has a pretty meh onboard DAC but some LGs supposedly have a decent one.

Second question - what are you looking for? Portability, something stationary but Android compatible, etc.

The best Android DACs I've used are actually the Apple USB-C dongles. Yes, the little $8 floppy bits you find at Best Buy. Yes, they work with Android - at least with 10. They can't drive headphones hard, but are awesome for the price. Worth giving a shot if you're willing to make dinner at home instead of getting takeout one night.