• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Questions about Ubuntu?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

grs

I'm new to Linux and I was wondering the following:-

In Windows you have Task Manager to allow you see what programs are running what is the Ubuntu equvilant, and how to access it?

How can I setup auto login, I'm the only user on my PC and I would like to set it so that when I turn on the PC it loads straight into Ubuntu with me having to type my user name and password every time.

I'm trying to edit a file to allow F@H run as a service but when I go to save it I'm told I don't have permissions how can I give myself permissions?

To see the running tasks go

System> Admin> System Monitor.

You can add it to your task bar by right clicking on the icon and pressing add to panal or desktop.

Howto Login Automatically

The file is probably set up with root only editing permissions. One way to fix this would be to change the permissions, but that decreases the security of the OS. A beter solution would be to edit the file as a root/super user. To do this in Ubuntu, simply prefix terminal commands with the word "sudo".
If you wish to use a command line editor, you would simply type:
Code:
sudo nano -w "file_path"
(excluding quotes)
or for a graphical editor type:
Code:
sudo gedit
then open the file with the program.

It is also advisable to backup system files before you edit them, just in case. To do this, in the terminal type:
Code:
sudo cp "file_directory" "file_directory".backup
(without quotes, appending the ".backup" onto whatever the file name is. It looks like an extension, but the dot is just another character in linux. Extentions don't effect the way a file runs in linux.)