• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Replaced Broken PII 955

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

MaddMutt

Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2015
I'm writing this out so that I hope to get it straight. AMD CPU's have been notorious for having a weak IMC, the PII X4 and X6 only goes to 1600 on memory. In the BIOS you do not have the option to go over DDR3-1600, so if you have faster memory you have to down clock it.
You hope that the timings you picked will run at 1600 down clocked from 2133. To make it easier, you picked up 2x2gb DDR3-1600 memory.

I picked up a set of G.Skill F3-12800CL7D (7-8-7-24) for $15, there was a better set for $50 at 7-7-7-21 but I didn't have the extra cash :(
^ Not sure if this is good memory as it uses several different versions of the Powerchip IC.
 

ShrimpBrime

~MadHatDeLidder~
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
DDR3 1866 should be an option on a good variety of motherboards. If I recall, M3A32, M4A79T where a couple that had this option.

Any how, if you have rated 1866 memory, clocking Phenom II to this frequency should usually be pretty easy to do.

However I'd like to state that certain Phenom II's had better IMCs than others. Phenom II 980BE I had would run respectively 1000-1100mhz daily Mushkin RedLines 9-10-9-27-36 2T 1.650v. Also 960T 1100T and 1090T clocked up to this frequency pretty well also.

However the 955BE may not clock quite as high, but I think you could squeeze 933mhz (1866) from it.
 

Mr.Scott

Beamed Me Up!
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
Close enough? I can loosen up the timings a little and be over 1000.
 

Attachments

  • image_id_1498983.jpg
    image_id_1498983.jpg
    115.9 KB · Views: 44

ShrimpBrime

~MadHatDeLidder~
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Holy S... Beeeeep....

Cas 6 man?? you gotta be kidding me.

Yea, that's good stuff right there brother.
 

Mr.Scott

Beamed Me Up!
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
G.Skill Flares 7-8-7-24 PSC
I have a set of Eco's that will do almost the same.
 

knoober

Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2015
Close enough? I can loosen up the timings a little and be over 1000.

when you start teaching class on how to do that let me know. I will be right there. I cant get mind over 1760-ish (I run them at 1600 though because there isnt a noticable performance increase)
 
OP
MaddMutt

MaddMutt

Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2015
DDR3 1866 should be an option on a good variety of motherboards. If I recall, M3A32, M4A79T where a couple that had this option.

Any how, if you have rated 1866 memory, clocking Phenom II to this frequency should usually be pretty easy to do.

However I'd like to state that certain Phenom II's had better IMCs than others. Phenom II 980BE I had would run respectively 1000-1100mhz daily Mushkin RedLines 9-10-9-27-36 2T 1.650v. Also 960T 1100T and 1090T clocked up to this frequency pretty well also.

However the 955BE may not clock quite as high, but I think you could squeeze 933mhz (1866) from it.

^ This is what I'm afraid of, benching a new CPU and hope that my guess on memory timings from the DDR3-2133 are correct. To me this is to many things that can mess up a benching section :) I don't know about Powerchip memory but it should be able to hit 1866. The timings are for 1600 7-8-7-24, so if I loosen them to 8-9-8-26 I should be able to do 1866.

I had 2 sets of Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24 W/Micron IC's water cooled. I would regularly take them to 2133, I also used them to win my 3rd try at the Rookie Rumble(Thank You MR.Scott) They finial gave out running 1.675v. I contacted Corsair to see what their position was. There was some back and forth before I received the BIG NO. I was told point blank that A) Running my memory outside of it's rated SPEED voided my warranty. B) Running my memory outside of it's rated VOLTAGE voided my warranty. I made a comment back to the service rep: This is the reason that G.Skill holds the record for having the FASTEST DDR3 memory. They didn't reply back.

- - - Updated - - -

Put some voltage to them. 1.65-1.7 is totally fine.

After I bench the 955, don't go jumping in like Alex and take away my Boints :rofl:
 

Mr.Scott

Beamed Me Up!
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
I was told point blank that A) Running my memory outside of it's rated SPEED voided my warranty.
That is a line of sh1t.


B) Running my memory outside of it's rated VOLTAGE voided my warranty.
You didn't need to volunteer that info.

After I bench the 955, don't go jumping in like Alex and take away my Boints :rofl:
Not my style man. Generally after I bench something once, I won't bench it again except for a contest. Then all bets are off.

Hope you're feeling better BTW. :)