• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Serious Heating Problems

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Rickster

OK dont bombared me with all these technical names cause im a novice at computers. I just know a WEENY bit.

I have a *deep breath*:
Asus A7V333
AMD Athlon XP 2000+ 1.6Ghz
Elsa Galdiac GeForce2MMX 511
Creative Sound Blaster LIVE!
Maxtor 40GB 7200 rpm
ATX Mid Tower Casing
4 fans (not sure measurements ill get back to u bout it) positioned in a square in front at the bottom of the casing
2 fans (not sure measurements ill get back to u bout it) at the back.
Arkua 7228 CPU fan running at 7000rpm

All the specs is there.
Prevoisly I was running a Pentium 3 800Mhz and it worked fine for me without any casing fan.
Its my first time working with an AMD when i saw the CPU fan i was shocked! It was a HUGE piece of junk. Then i saw how many fans there were and i was amazed.
So i did a thorough test on games and it kept hanging and restarting. I checked the CPU temperature and HECK it was 60 degrees C!!!!! BTW my country is about 32 degrees C average.
Is there a way to seriously cool this computer down? Yes i do have an aircond but no i try not to use it all the time. And even if i do use it the temp is about 45 degrees C with the covers taken out. Im trying to get it to about 39 degrees C without using aircond and without taking out the cover. My comp isnt under sunlight. Is it possible to cool it cheaply?
Ill show you ppl some pics of my casing so you can visualize.

What thermal compound are you using? Thermal compound is the material inbetween your heatsink and cpu die. I recommend some Artic Silver III. What temperature is your motherboard?

p.s Which part of malaysia are you in?

Rickster said: