• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

What's my next step?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

bigdady75

This is my first attempt at overclocking so I need all the help I can get. I have a Biostar TA990FXE motherboard, Corsair Dominator GT memory (2000 Mhz), an AMD FX-4170 cpu, and a Corsair H100 water cooling system. So far I have only done the obvious and upped the multiplier a bit to get to 4.8 Ghz. the RAM is currently at 1866 Mhz. What can I expect to reliably get the CPU to overclock to and what other less obvious tweaks can I do to to hopefully get it to 5.0 Ghz? The goal is to at least get to 5 Ghz and still have the system pretty reliable. I'm in school right now but I do have a laptop that I can use for school if I totally FUBAR the system or fry the CPU ( neither of which I would really like happen). Any advice or help would be greatly appreciated.

Complete parts breakdown.

Sorry I didn't list all of my hardware in my original post.

CPU: FX-4170
Ram: Corsair Dominator GT 8Gig (2x4 Gig at 1866 Mhz)
Mobo: Biostar TA990FXE
HD: Samsung 830 Series SSD (128 Gig)
Western Digital Caviar Green 1 Terabyte
Video: Radeon HD 5770
DVD+RW: LiteOn
USB: Microsoft Wireless keyboard and mouse
Case: Rosewill Gamehawk full tower

Hope this can help with any suggestions on where to go next. Thanks for all the help.

please download from the net cpu-z and cpu hardware monitor from the same site,
please download prime 95.
open hardware monitor and cpuz and run prime 95 for 30 mins.
watch the line in hardware monitor listed as "core temp" if it goes over 55c please abort the test and reduce the clock or vcore or both.
please post a screen shot with these open after the 30 min test.