• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

The best motherboard for i7 860 + OC ?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Piospi

Registered
Hi guys

I am a beginner, I decided to i7 860. I was thinking about memory G. Skill Trident 2x4 GB 2000 MHZ. Is it a good choice? Is there anything better for the same price?

I would like to ask you, what is the best motherboard for OC ??

I was thinking about:

EVGA Classified
EVGA FTW 200
EVGA FTW
Asus Rampage Formula II

What power supply should be? BQ 750W ??

I will have water cooling, thanks for answers.

I am greeting!!:):)

Don't try to put an 860 in a Rampage you're gonna end up with bent pins ( not the same socket) The Maximus III Formula is pretty good and I;m testing an EVGA P55 Classified right now (look for the thread in the Intel mobo section)

chuck4456 - i have 350$

icebob - sorry, not versed in these tests :( I do not know whether these tests, the EVGA is better ?

The P55 is fun to play with but no contender for the X58 platform IMO, any average 920 will outrun a good 860 with HT enabled, if you do not care for HT then get a i5-750 with a $150 board which will fall withing your budget.

You could get an Asrock X58 extreme for $169, I have one and it clocks really good, with a 920 which will provide you will a solid tri-channel RAM system and a 24/7 8 thread CPU off 4-4.2 Ghz which is very achievable.

sry, I ordered i7 860:(

i need good mobo for i7 860

920 + mobo + triple channel =
quite expensive

sry, I ordered i7 860:(

i need good mobo for i7 860

920 + mobo + triple channel =
quite expensive

just getting into P55 myself I have looked over a few boards
I really like the Maximus III, easy overclocker and very stable, if your budget allows I would at least consider it