• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Building a super-budget comp.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Domingus

Hey all, this is my first time posting on the forums.

I'm thinking about building a budget comp because I currently don't have one (and my roomates are little ****ed off at my using theirs all the time:) ). So anyways, I was wondering if you guys could give me a little advice on what to get and where to get it.

Here's what I've got so far:
WD 80 GB IDE 8 MB Cache 1 Year Warranty (picked it up for around $40 dollars after tax and rebates a couple of weeks ago)
Mouse, Keyboard, and CD-RW (just got them for around $15 after tax and rebates)

Here's what I'm thinking about getting:

Monitor: 17"-19" CRT (cheapest I've seen is around $60)

CPU: Barton 2500+, maybe mobile. For this I have a couple of questions, is there any reason to get Intel for a budget PC, is the mobile actually worth it, is the boxed version worth it if I'm planning to over clock) Also, what's the difference between an o/ced Tb and Barton?

HS/Fan: Wide open, maybe the one out of the box, but I'm open to suggestions.

Mobo: I'm looking at a sub-$100 preferably with Serial ATA. I'm looking at the NF7-S, but I'm also thinking about going for the KV7.

Memory: Cheap, brandname DDR 400. 2 x 512 or 1 x 512.

Case: The sonata looks really nice, but it's also a little too expensive. Any suggestions?

PSU: Either with case, or an antec, fortron, or enermax. Suggestions welcome.

Video: Cheap vivo, DX9 capable video card.