• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

First timer, read the sticky

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

mattstakilla

Registered
This is my first post and i am just getting in to the world of overclocking

i had an intel motherboard before and was told that im not able to overclock with it so i have gone out and purchased an ASUS motherboard

http://www.newegg.com/product/product.asp?item=N82E16813131189

and new cpu fan as i am told copper is the way to go

http://www.newegg.com/product/product.asp?item=N82E16835118030

Like i said i am new to this whole thing so im not looking for top of the line right now. i was just wondering what to expect with this motherboard and my core 2 duo e6300.

and just a couple questions

. what does it depend on more for better overclocking performance, better motherboard, or better cpu

. what has a better ratio for overclocking, quad core or core 2 duo?

. the settings shown in the bios screen for the overclocking tutorial. are those automatically set like that by default, or do i have to go in there and do all that before i overclock?

. is overclocking on the video card possible?

. i see in the tutorial he get a 25% increase in performance. is this normal, can i expect more with the motherboard i have purchased?

My parts are currently being shipped via newegg so i am yet to install and get even the operating system running. But after I am finished, I will post again and tell how well I have done on my first endevour of overclocking. Any help is greatly appreciated!

duals oc higher then quads so it more depends on what your using the cpu for.
motherboards well get one thats got ocing options in bios, aka asus/abit/gigabyte/dfi/biostar/msi.