• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

How long before Nehalem is available and affordable?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

indca

Hello guys, I've been using my prescott since 2003, and its going good, still, I'd like to upgrade my computer to Nehalem which would last me at least another 7 years, so when is this beast coming out? Is the first batch for only high end consumers? I heard that first cpu's are gonna be $1,000 range, is that true? and if yes, then how long do I have to wait before it becomes affordable?

When should I expect to get this cpu at around $300 range? I know its still speculations, still I'd like to get an idea of when I should plan to buy my system, as its no point in purchasing now since everything is just about to change anyways, or do you guys recommend that I get a present core of CPU?

Is wait worth it? especially if its long term purchase?

Hello guys, I've been using my prescott since 2003, and its going good, still, I'd like to upgrade my computer to Nehalem which would last me at least another 7 years, so when is this beast coming out? Is the first batch for only high end consumers? I heard that first cpu's are gonna be $1,000 range, is that true? and if yes, then how long do I have to wait before it becomes affordable?

When should I expect to get this cpu at around $300 range? I know its still speculations, still I'd like to get an idea of when I should plan to buy my system, as its no point in purchasing now since everything is just about to change anyways, or do you guys recommend that I get a present core of CPU?

Is wait worth it? especially if its long term purchase?
I would not wait it's not worth it there will be a small inmprovemt in applications for 7 years

Available - Q4 this year, probably towards december