Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > General Motherboards
General Motherboards
Forum Jump

HP Motherboard Overclocking?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread

Old 02-01-10, 11:10 AM Thread Starter   #1
Judahcavalleri

Unhappy HP Motherboard Overclocking?

Hey Everyone - this is my first time posting.

I searched through the forums and couldn't find another thread on this particular MOBO so I thought I would ask you all.

Ok so I have the following HP motherboard: 09F90H with Bios version HPQOEM 20050518 and after having looked through the bios I can't find anywhere to change the CPU voltage or anything else Overclocking related. I have a Pentium 4 Prescott 3.4ghz HT, which i have seen at speeds of over 4ghz with watercooling (which I have) but I don't know if my mobo can handle overclocking.

Am I right in saying that if a BIOS doesn't have the option to overclock, then i am pretty much screwed? i have looked for newer bios versions without success. I am also in the lame position that there are only a couple of prescott supporting motherboards with also support DDR2 ram (which I spent a lot of money on) and the only few that can natively overclock have terrible reviews!

If anyone has some wisdom I would GREATLY appreciate it! Please also note that yes, I am on a Pentium 4...let's assume that I am unable to upgrade to a better proccessor for the time being and really wanna concentrate on this one? However dumb that sounds, just trust me - this is what I have and I have to make the most of it!

thanks everyone!!!
Judahcavalleri is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99