• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

grounding issue?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

quadcore

Registered
Hello everybody.Realised all of a sudden,while walking by my PC and having a testing screwdriver in hand,i give the PSU a touch,just for fun and i realise that it is giving me the "load" indication!I keep up with some chasis bolts and it is still giving loads.Same goes with PCI cards bolts.Its not like the indicator is all lit up,but i can clearly see,that the little lamp does light up a bit.I have been running with that case for almost three years,without any hickups.What do you think of that?

Nobody curious enough,to take a tester and repeat the "touch" to see if is having the same symptomps?Everybody so sure about their grounding?

check your wall outlet. touch the ground hole, be positive certain it is the ground hole.
if it lights up its a wiring fault of your house.

Thanks for the concerne.
It does light up.Anyway to overcome the issue?

Getting an electrician to your house to track the problem down would be the next logical step to me.

sounds like your breaker box is wired wrong they likely have the white (neutral) and copper (ground) linked together on the ground bus in there. which is fine it just doesnt let any kind of grounded safety measures to work like gfi or surge things.
my house is like that for the time being it was that way when i moved in. just haveto be more careful, im in the process of redoing it all though.
my ups also shows a wiring fault light on when its plugged in.

That sounds really Shocking wagex, i hate to stick any fingers anywhere near your electrics, you would end up like a electric Cat Fish on Steroids my friend!! :eek: ;)

Edit: No wonder all the Catfish are Blue down there, something to do with the Electrics you all!! :p :rolleyes: