• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

5k$ Workstation - looking for all possible advices

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

caroline_

Hi,
I am looking for all possible advice about building workstation. This is my first time so I am very scared. Some parts are pre-selected, for some I need your recommendation.

Budget
: About 5k$
Purpose: VR Game Development, Unreal Engine, Maya, 3Ds Max,Blender, Zbrush, Substance Painter, Designer, B2M,and other 3d software, VR Gaming, Rendering, Photoshop, InDesign. Few times, there will be a time that PC will be left for few days to bake a game in Unreal Engine. Maybe even a week.
Priority: flawless performance and stability. I don't care about looks.

CPU
-I am giving my preference to i9 7940x. I know that for rendering Xeon is recommended, but Rendering is not the main task for this workstation. Of course, if you have another point of view and strong arguments, do not hesitate to convince me :)

GPU - GTX 1080 Ti. I am pretty sure, that I don't want Quadro. But again - let's talk about it, if you are sure that I should get Quadro, please let me know.

MOBO: Asus ROG RAMPAGE VI EXTREME, but I am open to other propositions.

RAM - Not specified, but I need fast 32GB RAM with a possibility of expanding in 2 years.

SSD - Not specified. For now, Fast 500-750 GB will be enough.

HDD - Not specified.For now, Fast 3TB will be enough.

Cooling
- I will go forwater CPU cooling, maybe GPU as well. I want my parts to be cool and longstanding. I was thinking about NZXT Kraken X62 v.2 for CPU

Case -I prefer lightweight midtower, because this PC will have to travel few times in a year on game events, but again: If you think it's a bad idea, please let me know. First choice: Lian Li PC-J60WX

Power -Not specified, but I am considering SLI in the future.