• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

8350 overclock problem

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Piercex181

Registered
Hey, I apologize in advance for any dumb questions or if this has been answered elsewhere, but I haven't been able to find an answer yet, and I'm new to overclocking. I have an AMD fx8350 on a 990fxa-ud3 rev.3. My problem is if I try to go above 1.4V it automatically throttles 6 out of 8 cores to around 1.4MHz. When I started overclocking I was testing with Prime95 and everything seemed stable at 4.5MHz and 1.380V, but when playing games the performance is noticeably better but I'm getting crashes and hardlocks that I didn't get before, and when I up the voltage one increment higher it throttles the 6 cores. I've read all kinds of forums claiming stability at 1.45V so I'm not sure what's going on. I know my motherboard has had problems with the VRM and northbridge heatsinks, I've added fans to them to help with cooling and HWMonitor readings are all fine. Does anyone know what could be causing this?

Load with Prime95 and provide some screen shots of your temps please. Open Cpu-z tabs cpu, memory and lets have a look. Use your max stable settings please.

SS.png
Temps are a few degrees higher then they were with my previous tests, not sure why. It didn't break 50 before. Also just noticed the voltage is going higher then the 1.38 I set it to..

Yea the temps look pretty decent IMO. Shouldn't be doing this throttling deal. But then again, it's not the greatest motherboard on the OC planet either.

I'd ask about Bios revision. Has this ever been updated?

- - - Updated - - -

Also, it looks as if Cpu-z reports accurate speeds. I wonder if HWMonitor is bugged. 22.5 x 200 doesn't make 4680mhz. It looks like all cores are doing the same speed as well.