• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Aluminum plus copper

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

occamsblade

Registered
1. I did not build this.
2. I am a total newb when it comes to water-cooling, but no when it comes to building computers.

So I have a computer that is almost identical to the x 603 seen here. https://www.ekfluidgaming.com/powerspec-fluid-gaming/

I say almost because that build comes with all aluminum parts... but the waterblock on my gaming card is way to heavy and shiny to be aluminum:shock:. I have had the unit and run it infrequently for about a year. One of the fan's bearings were shot and I could not change the fans without removing the dang radiator. When I did I noticed gunk in the waterblock and what looks like damage to the assumed nickel plate on the video card block. The CPU block looks fine. I cant see inside the radiator. I know I have to replace something. Can I:
just replace the waterblock on the video card?
replace everything BUT the waterblock on the video card?
Or am I stuck building a while new loop?

If its option number 3, will I need a new pump??

Thanks in advance

I'm a bit confused. Is it a Fluid Gaming brand computer built by a system integrator, or a custom computer with fluid gaming parts added. Can you tell if the block is a Fluid Gaming part? Every fluid gaming part is aluminum, but if someone added a non-fluid gaming part to a fluid gaming loop that would be bad. First I would find some way to verify the block is really copper. Maybe contact EK and ask them?

As you have discovered aluminum and copper do not mix well. It leads to galvanic corrosion. It's difficult to tell what might just need a really good cleaning vs what might need to be replaced. Can you post a picture of the GPU block?

+1