• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Amd fx 8120 Voltage settings.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Oreofarm

Registered
Hi i am quite new to this and i have recently built a rig that uses the amd fx 8120. Despite people constantly ripping on the cpu, i love my bulldozer because it has served me well. I had a question about the temps of the cpu and what voltages to run it at. I keep it for now at the default 3.1 Ghz because right now i dont have a powerful enough power supply to OC but i was wondering what are stable voltages to run it under load. Whenever i start it up it has a CPU VID of 1.3375 and an NB VID of 1.2375. Are these voltages too high to run the CPU at under load or am i just fine? I want to know if i am consuming more power than needed at the default 3.1 Ghz. Im not all too worried about temps because they never get above 55C, but maybe if i bump the voltages down i can dissipate some heat? Thanks in advance! :)

Howdy, and :welcome: to the forums! I'd better get my say before caddi shows up...

To the best of my memory, I believe you have a very middle-of-the-road chip, voltage wise. This, also going off my memory, has translated to better overclocking potential. You may have a good chip.

I'm quite certain you can under-volt it. Mine went all the way down to 1.24 before instability presented itself. My temperatures did drop, and power consumption most assuredly dropped, though how much I couldn't say. With that said...

My chips vid is somewhere around 1.27 or 1.28, much lower than yours. Mine is a bad one, it's very leaky and runs absurdly hot. I got a water-cooling loop just for my cpu, and it still hits 55 celcius under load (overclocked, that is.)