• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

AMD FX-9370 Questions

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Ireland

Registered
Hi guys,

I'm a bit of a newbie when it comes to CPUs. I have a few questions about the AMD FX-9370 I'm hoping you can help me out with. A local PC store is offering the CPU for a pretty good deal so I was thinking about picking one up. I find the specs a little confusing though.
I currently have a Phenom II 3.2GHz quad core CPU, 650W power supply, 8GB of DDR3 ram, a Radeon 7970 GPU, and a Zalman cooler (CNPS9900 MAX), and an ASUS A88-V EVO motherboard.

The questions I have are:

Can my current power supply handle this CPU? I'm confused about the 220W TDP is requires, I honestly have no idea what that means.

ALso, Is my fan cooler good enough or do I have to go with a water cooler? (I know nothing about water cooling in general)

Any help would be greatly appreciated. If I need to provide more info just let me know.

If you want to pick up that beast I highly recommend getting a better cooler (custom loop, Noctua nh-d14,
Phanteks PH-TC14PE) and a better mobo (asus crosshair v, asus sabertooth,asrock extreme 9).
The thermal design power (TDP), sometimes called thermal design point, refers to the maximum amount of power the cooling system in a computer is required to dissipate. The TDP is typically not the most power the chip could ever draw, such as by a power virus, but rather the maximum power that it would draw when running "real applications". This ensures the computer will be able to handle essentially all applications without exceeding its thermal envelope, or requiring a cooling system for the maximum theoretical power (which would cost more but in favor of extra headroom for processing power).

Hope I helped. :thup:

Can my current power supply handle this CPU?