• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Antec true power 430,480 or 550?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

napalm747

I'm new to the overclocking world and would appreciate some advise. I am upgrading my PSU from a stock antec 350 to either a truepower 430,480 or 550. I am overclocking the below system and want some advise on which one would be best and also good for future upgrades over the next couple of years (don't want something that works now but won't be enough in a year or two). Thanks

A7n8X Del. MOBO
mobile 2500 at 3200+ speeds sp-97 heatsink
Radeon 9800 Pro at 410/375 vga silencer
1 gig pc 2700 mem
80 gig HD
cd-rom/cd-rw

I have researched over threads and get such a variety of information on all these PSU's. Some advise specifically about these PSU's would be appreciated. Thanks for you help for the new guy.

In your case the 480 would probably be a good choice. the 550 is alot of power but I never use all the power my 480 gives me. I have a similar setup to you with the addition of a couple of hard drives and bout 300 mhz more on the cpu. The true control series allows you to adjust the voltage rails individually, I believe its only on the 550. The true power has active voltage regulation which is a plus along with tighter specs for the rails. 3% tolerence as opposed to the typical 5%. The smart power series has 5% tolerence and is generally viwed to be inferior to the true power series. Like I said I'd go for the 480 True power series, it will fit your needs for a long time to come.

edit: WELCOME TO THE FORUMS!!!!!!

Thanks a lot for the advise. I really appreciate your insight. It helps me out alot. Thanks again

I've been running the 430w TruePower for a while with the following:

P4 Prescott @ 3.8ghz 1.6v
XMS3500 @ 220mhz 2-2-2-6 Dual Channel @ 3.2v