• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Asus Crosshair V Formula-Z no beep...?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Jason Webb

Hello all,

I received my new MB today... I'm no stranger to building my own rigs... I have been doing so for 10 years. Although, this one is really annoying because I don't understand why there isn't any beep from the MB speaker when there should be. It's a new build and the previous MB the OBMBS wad working fine but know if doesn't. Without any beeps I can't tell if there is any issues at startup or and problems with hardware.

The bottom line is that I can see it boots fine, I can access the BIOS and I've update to the latest BIOS build for this MB and it's now running the latest stable build. still no beeps with new BIOS update. My memory is a little fuzzy, I do recall there are commands in Command Prompt to tell if the OBMBS is working to send a commend to the speaker and it beeps. Although, I cannot remember the commands.

If I can send a command to the speaker then at least I know it it is working. Personally, I think the speaker is working fine... for some reason it doesn't beep at all which concerns me a little. I tried thevconnection backwards but still the same problem.

Thanks in advance,

JD Webb

Last edited:
Shut the system down and pull the memory out, start the system back up it should beep and that will tell you if it will notify you of a system malfunction!

Shut the system down and pull the memory out, start the system back up it should beep and that will tell you if it will notify you of a system malfunction!

It's a bit late for dithering about with a MB. I try a few things tomorrow, up for work in the morning. :(

I was going to try this one but, for some reason I decided on not bothering. Must have been a blonde moment.